Netflix has been losing subscribers over the past few years, and it’s widely known about it. In order to permanently delete your Netflix account, you must first have canceled your Netflix subscription. Even if you cancel your Netflix subscription, your Netflix account will not be deleted immediately. When you cancel your Netflix subscription, you can request that your account be deleted immediately. We’ve covered how to do that in this article.
What Happens When You Cancel Your Netflix Account?
For 10 months following the cancellation of your Netflix subscription, the streaming service will keep your account active. That way, users can access their profiles, favorites, viewing preferences, and watch history if they decide to reactivate their Netflix subscription. However, you can request that your account be deleted early.
After canceling your Netflix subscription, you’ll need to send an email to Netflix requesting that your account be deleted. In the following section, we’ll go over exactly how to accomplish this.
How to Delete Your Netflix Account?
Stop using your current subscription as a starting point. Netflix will keep your personal information for the next ten months after you complete this process. After that, your account will be deleted by default. But if you want to ensure that it is gone sooner, you can do so.
- Open your web browser on a PC and open Netflix.
- When the Netflix website opens, sign in to your account and choose your profile.
- Now, hover your pointer over the down-pointing arrow beside your profile picture and click on Account from the drop-down menu.
- Now, under Membership & Billing, click on Cancel Membership.
- Finally, click on the blue-colored Finish button and your subscription will be canceled.
How to Delete Netflix Account Permanently?
In order to permanently delete your Netflix account, you must send an email to email@example.com requesting the deletion of your account.
Wait until the end of the current billing period before canceling your account, if you haven’t done so already. Unless you specifically ask them to do so in your email, they will not erase it.
Here’s a sample mail you can copy and send it:
Dear Netflix Team,
I have canceled my Netflix subscription and I will no longer be using Netflix from <DATE>. I, therefore, request that you immediately delete my account and any associated data from your database prior to the 10-month cooling-off period.
Please accept my sincere appreciation,
With best wishes
What Information Does Netflix Keep?
Netflix retains some limited information even after you delete your account. On the list are the devices you used, your email addresses, and the payment methods you’ve used to pay.
For fraud prevention and accounting purposes, they keep this information, but it cannot be used to contact you or to charge your payment method. The email address and payment method are also used to match you if you ever decide to subscribe to their service again.
Well, that’s all we have here about how you can delete your Netflix account permanently before the 10-month cooldown period. We hope this guide helped you. If you liked this, make sure to check out how you can watch every movie in any country on Netflix.